top of page

A New Place

Hi all,

Looks like there was a long hiatus! It has been a busy year and a half. Let's get you all up to date.

I was certainly busy with work and commissions. Last year I participated in the Ridgeway Festival. I was invited by a dear friend of mine whose parents and compatriots were gracious and generous hosts, providing me with a tent to show in, as well as a place to stay and food & drink. Thank you!

I also showed my pieces at a store downtown Peterborough, the 360 Wellness Clinic, they were so helpful and patient!

The Pastry Peddler, my favourite restaurant in the Kawartha Lakes was another amazing opportunity - I showed my pieces there not only last year, but earlier this year too! Thanks Deanna and Colin!

This year, I joined the Kawartha Artists' Gallery & Studio, met a number of great artists, and participated in the SPARK photography show. This show allowed painters to also show their paintings, and a piece dear to my heart -

Milly: so much cattitude.

was sold to a lovely lady whom I later met at the Kawartha Arts Festival in August.

My little booth!

Man it sold so fast after that.  Framing!

Via another close friend of mine, I was introduced to Paul Weisberg of Nancy's Art and Frame Studio. He generously offered space for me to show my work throughout the year, and has been so patient with my messy schedule. Paul, himself being an artist, has a great eye for framing. He does a fantastic job and makes my pieces look soo good. Thank you Paul!

I also did a number of cool commissions between 2017 and now. I've painted on saws, milk jugs, buckets, you name it. I'll post an entry later this year detailing all those fun objects that have been restored and painted!

 

I've recently moved to Ottawa (the love of my life having found himself a sweet new job), and with new places come new opportunities. I'm missing my friends and well, let's face it, they were pretty much family. The Spearings of Ground Covers Unlimited not only provided me a job, and not only a house but a home (including all the important things that come with a home, I'm looking at you, Melissa: all the hugs, my roomie). It's been a wonderful and inspiring four and a half years that I'll never forget. The Browns and associated kin: you guys are so lovely and kind and generous. Drew: MA BRAH. Dunkley: DUNKLEY. All the rest of you wonderful people - thank you! And I'll miss those chickens too, but one is defrosting in the fridge right now, so I'll be reunited soon.

I haven't left the Peterborough area completely behind (and not just because I haven't yet switched doctors, or that I am obviously going to the next pig roast...). In November I'm exhibiting at a show at Nancy's Art and Frame Gallery.

Lately I've been unpacking and setting my studio back up. I'm living in the city now, which is a big readjustment, but there's a lot more space for my art clutter, and getting to shows or potential clients will be less of a trip. It's also an opportunity for me to jump into my art practice more seriously.

Expect in the next few months some updates of new pieces I've worked on, I'm waiting for some clients to give me the heads-up for social-media posting!

Until Next Time, Cheers!

Sarah Burt

PS Check out all the new gallery updates, I rearranged and added new pieces!

 

bottom of page